EJ Hayes 1st Place Battle of the Books Team Winners: Alex Lee, Aren Lisangen, Haley McKenzie, Ty Scott, Walker Silverthorne and Coach Ms. Sheila Toler. Not present: Rachel Lilley, Rowan Savary, Jhyyonna Smith, Justice Spruill and Coach Ms. Jan Baker
Riverside Middle School's 1st Place Battle of the Books Team Winners: Natalie Davis, Kym'Nasjia McClure and Coaches: Lisa Baumann and Kathy Manning. Not present: Kylie Stone, Shanai Benson, Daniel Moore, Ariana Modlin and Cornecia Smith
Camecia Spruill, Renee Wright & Jennifer Goodwin (JES): Highest Rated NC Star License Award
Lynn Rogerson, ROD District I Outstanding Elementary Science Teacher of the Year Award
Maggie Belangia, SCMHS District I Outstanding Middle School Science Teacher of the Year Award
Sarah McPhillips, SCES Outstanding Elementary School Student Teaching Award
Leonard Allen, RHS Northeast Baseball Coach of the Year
Alayna Hernandez, ROD Superintendent's Christmas Card Choice Award
William Harrell, Northeast Football Coach of the Year
JaBrian Spruill, Service Award
Deanna Cooke, Teacher of Excellence

November 2018 Bright Ideas Grant Winners

South Creek Middle/High School: Cliff Hudson, Mary Hill, Billie Vanderford, Maggie Belangia and Jessica Bryant: "Rockets to Race Care"

Riverside High School: Debbie Hardwick: Teach Me What I Need to Know! Vocational Skills"

Rodgers Elementary: Leigh An Hudson, Brian Swift, Tammy Jones, Maggie Bryan: "Art, Athletics and Music- the other part of STEM"

Not Present:

South Creek Middle/High School: Leigh Apple: "Energy Beneath Our Feet"

Riverside High School: Brandon Woody: The Knightly Quest to Slay the EOC"

Rodgers Elementary:

Sue Speed: "Teach Wonder, Go Ahead"

Board Member Mr. Russ Ayers received "Years of Service" Award.

Board Member Mrs. Addie Lou Vanderford Briley received "Years of Service" award. 

October 2018

Jim Guard, Principal of the Year

Michelle Mobley, Assistant Principal of the Year