School Board‎ > ‎

Board Spotlight Recognition

May 2017

The E.J. Hayes Elementary Battle of the Books Team was recognized for placing 1st in the Martin County Elementary Schools Battle of the Books competition held March 8, 2017.  Also recognized was the South Creek Middle Battle of the Books Team for  placing 1st in the Martin County Middle Schools Battle of the Books competition held March 7, 2017.  

We are very proud of our students!  "Keep up the Good Work"

April 2017

Tanner Patrick, a 2nd grader at Edna Andrews Elementary was recognized for receiving Honorable Mention and 2nd Place recognition for his project “How Does Water Freeze?” at the ECU 2017 Northeast Regional Science and Engineering Fair.  Also recognized was the Martin County Schools JROTC Program for receiving a score of 97.5 and the high rating of ‘Honor Unit with Distinction’ at its JROTC Program for Accreditation Inspection held March 2, 2017.  Further recognized were the Riverside Middle MATHCOUNTS Team for placing 1st in the 2017 MATHCOUNTS Competition, and the Riverside and South Creek Middle Individual Place Winners.  

Congrautlations to all of our Board Spotlight recipients!

March 2017

Tonya Little was recognized for receiving the FIRST LEGO League Outstanding Volunteer Award at the FLL Championship Tournament on January 14, 2017.  Also recognized were Franklin Scott, Jr. of Riverside Middle as recipient of the Biogen Foundation Grant, and Leigh Apple of South Creek High as recipient of the Novozymes Bioeducate Grant.    

Thank You For All You Do!

February 2017

Riverside Middle Kinetic Knights FIRST LEGO League was recognized for placing 1st in both Project Presentation and Robotics Competition at the FLL Regional Event; and for placing 1st in Research Project Presentation at the State Championship Tournament.  

Also recognized were recipients of the 2016-17 Bright Ideas Education Grant: Tonya Little, Tracie Smith, Wendy Peele-Clark, and Donsenia Teele of Riverside Middle; Joe Peele of South Creek High; Brandon Woody, Elizabeth Barber, and Leigh Ann Hudson of Riverside High; Cliff Hudson, Colby Riggins, Betsy Price, Robin Hardy, and Jim Lee of South Creek Middle. 

Some of our Board members were recognized for NCSBA training hours achieved during the 2015-16 school year: Mr. Kenneth Harrell, Ms. Barbara Council, Mr. Van Heath, Ms. Addie Lou Leggett, and Mr. Gene Scott. 

Congratulations to all!

January 2017

Keandre' Wilson was recognized for his drawing submitted for the 2016 Christmas Card Contest.  He received 1st placed as the Superintendent's Choice and his drawing was displayed on the front of Martin County Schools Christmas Card.  He received a framed copy of the card, $25 gift certificate from Walmart and a Certification of Recognition from Martin County Schools.  

Clara Banks, Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent, was also recognized for receiving a North Carolina School Boards Association Diploma of Distinction in recognition of 400 training hours.

Congratulations to Keandre' Wilson and Clara Banks!

December 2016

Moses Matthews, Board Member, was recognized for his 20 years of service to Martin County Schools.  Thank you for your service Mr. Matthews.

November 2016

East End Elementary School MATHCOUNTS Team 1st Place - 2016 MATHCOUNTS Competition-
Recognized Arianna Taylor as Team Tutor

Teachers which exceeded Student Growth for Three Years recognized:

Melissa Warren - 1st Grade Reading, Williamston Primary
Lisabeth Sutherland - 1st Grade Reading, Williamston Primary
Donna Hardison - 4th Grade Reading, E. J. Hayes School
Linda Moore - 5th Grade Math, East End School
Karen Whitley - 1st Grade Reading, Jamesville Elementary
Amy Daniels - Kindergarten Reading, Rodgers Elementary
Renee Oglesby - 6th Grade Math, Riverside Middle School
Kim Wagner - 6th Grade Math, Riverside Middle School
Billie Vanderford - 6th Grade Math, South Creek Middle
Mary Hill - 7th Grade Science, South Creek Middle
Evangeline Freeman - 8th Grade Science, South Creek Middle
Melanie Delph - English II, Riverside High
Vinya Ward - Health Science I & II, Riverside High
Kathy Brown - CTE Word/PPT, CTE Excel/Access, South Creek High
Sheila Toler - 4th Grade Reading, E. J. Hayes School
Larry Jackson - 7th Grade Math, Riverside Middle
Cynthia Grimes, English II, Riverside High

October 2016

South Creek Middle School Receives Youth Literacy Grant titled "Stop Collaborate and Read:  The Cougars are Back with Some Brand New Books!"
Cliff Hudson, Assistant Principal, received a $3,738 grant from Dollar General Youth Literacy Foundation to provide literary resources for South Creek Middle School Students.

East End Elementary Schools, MATHCOUNTS Team - 1st Place - 2016

MATHCOUNTS Competition.

Mr. Alan Hagen, South Creek High School 2016-17 Principal of the Year

Ms. Misty Rushing, Williamston Primary School 2016-17 Assistant Principal of the Year

September 2016

The Martin County Board of Education members were recognized for receiving the Gold Bell Award.  To receive this award, all board members had to earn 12 hours of training between July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016.  This program is sponsored by the North Carolina School Board Association.  Board members include Van Heath, Kenneth Harrell, Moses Matthews, Gene Scott, Barbara Council, Addie Lou Leggett and Russ Ayers.  We are so proud and appreciative of our board members who work hard to fulfill the vision and mission of Martin County Schools.

Congratulations East End Elementary School for being selected by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction’s Student Leadership Institute Committee, to attend the 2016 Student Leadership Institute – Elementary School Cohort held on the campus of Pfeiffer University June 13 – 16th, 2016.  East End Elementary School members include Caleb Stahl, Daniel Sayblack, Alyssa Cobb, Jayla Groves, Sahid Jimenez, Jai’Marqus Jones, along with coaches Tiffany McDonald and Michelle Mobley.

Congratulations East End Elementary School for your 1st Place Finish in the MATHCOUNTS competition held on April 8, 2016.  Members are Tina Day, Miya Elliott, Carleigh Harris, Bailey Hughes, Ian Jordan, Jacob Matthews, Isiah Roberson, Tianna Taylor, Jerri-Lynn West along with coaches Kristin Stahl and Linda Moore.

 July 2016

These students attended the 2016 NCHSAA Track & Field Men's 1A Championship Event on May 20, 2016 and came home successful!  Congratulations to the following students recognized at the July 11th Board Meeting!

Riverside High School 400 Relay Team finished 2nd Place.  Members consisted of:  Devonta Purvis, Tyler Carr, Malik Smith, Jeremiah Wilson, Coaches Travis Wester and Mark Cagle.

Jeremiah Wilson finished 1st Place in the 100 Meter Dash and Ben Cox finished 4th Place in the 110 Meter Hurdles.

South Creek High School student Jermaine Smith finished 1st Place in the 110 Meter Dash and 300 Meter Hurdle.  Coaches were Daryl Pittman and Greg Exum.

We are very proud of these students and their accomplishments.